Close this search box.

JSE’s Best Practices Award



 (KINGSTON, NOVEMBER 21, 2006): The gala event for the financial services sector, the annual Jamaica Stock Exchange’s Best Practices Awards, will be held on Wednesday December 6, 2006 at the Hilton Kingston Hotel. Governor General the Most Hon. Prof. Kenneth Hall, O.N.,O.J., will be the Guest Speaker.

 The awards were initiated last year by the Jamaica Stock Exchange to recognize companies who have upheld the best practices standards in the areas of Corporate Disclosure and Investor Relations; Annual Reports; Website; Company Performance.  Through the awards, Jamaica Stock Exchange also seeks to enhance the relationship between itself and its stakeholders and create an awareness of the standards for best practices in the areas to be adjudged.

 This year’s banquet will see the introduction of the prestigious Governor General’s Award for Excellence which will be presented to the overall winner of the Awards.

 A rigorous selection of the winners was completed over the last ten months by an independent Committee chaired by Prof. Neville Ying, Executive Director of the Mona School of Business. Other Committee members include: Christopher Bovell, Attorney-at-law; Alvaro Casserly, Company Director; Vindell Kerr, CEO GovStrat Ltd.; John Jackson, Financial Consultant and Producer of the Investors’ Choice; Audrey Richards, Financial Consultant; Dr. Brian Langrin; Chief Economist, Bank of Jamaica; Dr. Noel Reynolds, Snr. Lecturer, Department of Management Studies and Mr. Errol Anderson, President of the Computer Society.

 Companies in the winners circle last year were: Bank of Nova Scotia and GraceKennedy Ltd. who tied as overall winner; Mayberry Investments Ltd., first place winner, Investor Relations; BNS (Ja.) – Best Annual Report and Best Practices, Corporate Disclosure and Investor Relations; DB&G Best Performing company; Jamaica Broilers Group, Best Website, Listed Company and First Global Financial Services, Best Website (Brokerages).