National Commercial Bank Jamaica Limited

Directors' Report

30 September 2001

The directors submit herewith the Consolidated Profit and Loss Account of National Commercial Bank Jamaica Limited and its subsidiaries for the year ended 30 September 2001, together with the Consolidated Balance Sheet as at that date:

Operating Results

	\$'000
Profit before exceptional items, taxation and extraordinary items	1,505,772
Exceptional items	(1,026,164)
Profit before taxation and extraordinary items	479,608
Taxation	(36,608)
Profit after taxation	443,000
Minority interests in the results of subsidiaries	(47,558)
Net profit after taxation and before extraordinary items	395,442
Extraordinary items	(25,528)
Net profit attributable to the stockholders of National Commercial	
Bank Jamaica Limited	369,914

Dividend

A first interim dividend of \$0.05 per ordinary stock unit in the form of a capital distribution was paid during the year. A second interim dividend of \$0.05 per ordinary stock unit will be

paid out of profits in respect of the year to 30 September 2001 on 30 January 2002 to stockholders on record as at 28 December 2001. No final dividend in respect of the year ended 30 September 2001 is recommended by the directors.

Directors

The Board comprises:

Hon. Oliver Frederick Clarke, OJ Chairman Mr. Dunbar Theophilus McFarlane Deputy Chairman Mr. Christopher James Lowe Managing Director Mr. Aytmer Desmond Blades Professor Terrence Everton St. George Forrester Mr. Robert Launcelot Gregory Hon. Noel Arthur Anthony Hylton, OJ, CID, Hon. ILL D Mrs. Kathleen Anne Joan Moss Mrs. Andr6e Roxana Nembhard Professor the Hon. Ralston "Rex"Nettleford, OM Dr. Jeffrey Winston Pyne Mr. Paul Tomlin Augustus Stewart Mr. Patrick A. Hylton (alternate Mr. N. Patrick McDonald) Mr. Michael Philip HoSue Dr. Nigel Andrew Lincoln Clarke Mrs. Jennifer Dewdney Kelly Secretary

On 17 November 2000, Mr. Joseph Ameen Shoucair resigned as Secretary and Mrs. Jennifer Dewdney Kelly was appointed in his place.

Pursuant to Article 97, one-third of the Directors other than the Managing Director will retire at the Annual General Meeting.

Auditors

The auditors, PricewaterhouseCoopers, have indicated their willingness to continue in office and offer themselves for re-appointment.

On be of the Board

Jennifer Dewdney Kelly Secretary